Railway Minister Announces Introduction of New Trains and Other Services

The move Implements the Announcements made in the Railway Budget 2011-12

The Minister of Railways, Shri Dinesh Trivedi today announced introduction of 26 new trains, extension of five existing trains, increase in frequency of two existing trains and introduction of new five sub-urban trains. Most of these new services announced were part of the Railway Budget 2011-12. The trains announced in the Railway Budget 2011-12 are implemented by the end of the financial year i.e. 31st March 2012. With this announcement, 115 out of 132 new trains proposed for introduction during Railway Budget 2011-12 will get introduced, 19 out of 22 increase in frequency of trains proposed in Railway Budget 2011-12 will be effected and all the extension of trains proposed in Railway Budget 2011-12 will get implemented. Efforts are being made to ensure introduction of other remaining services proposed in the Railway Budget 2011-12 by the stipulated date of 31st March, 2012. Today’s announcement include three Duronto, one Shatabdi, one fully AC Express, three Rajyarani Express, nine Mail and Express services, three MEMU services, three DEMU services and five EMU services.

In case of new trains, local public representatives as per laid down protocol will be invited by the concerned Zonal Railway/Divisional Railway for the formal flagging off in next 7 to 10 days.

Extension and increase in frequency of the existing trains will be introduced with immediate effect, as operationally feasible.

The list of new trains, extension of existing services etc. is given below:


1. 12297/12298 Pune-Ahmedabad AC Duronto (Tri-weekly)

2. 22209/22210 Mumbai Central-New Delhi AC Duronto (Bi-weekly)

3. 19405/19406 Ahmedabad-Yesvantpur AC Express (Weekly)

4. 12567/12568 Saharsa-Patna Rajya Rani Express (Daily)

5. 22101/22102 Manmad-Mumbai Rajya Rani Express (Daily)

6 .19261/19262 Porbander-Kochuvelli Express (Weekly)

7. 22901/22902 Udaipur-Bandra(T) Express (Tri-weekly)

8. 18511/18512 Visakhapatnam-Koraput Intercity Express

9. 57477/57478 Tirupati-Guntakal Passenger (Daily)

10. 58301/58302 Koraput-Sambalpur Passenger (Daily)

11. 59425/59426 Bhuj-Palanpur passenger (Daily)

12. 66302/66303 Ernakulam-Kollam MEMU (6 days a week)

13. 77683/77684 Jalna-Nagarsol DEMU (6 days a week)

14. 77686/77685 & 77688/77687 Kacheguda – Nizamabad DEMU (6 days a week)

15. 77681/77682 & 77679/77680 Falaknuma-Medchal DEMU (6 days a week)

16. 19027/19028 Bandra (T)-Jammu Tawi Vivek Express (Weekly)

17. 12293/12294 Allahabad- Mumbai AC Duronto (Bi-weekly)

18. 22454/22453 Meerut-Lucknow Rajya Rani Express (Daily)

19. 13423/13424 Bhagalpur-Ajmer Express (Weekly)

20. 12371/12372 Kolkata-Jaisalmer Express (Weekly)

21. 22451/22452 Mumbai-Chandigarh Express (Weekly)

22. 19407/19408 Varanasi-Ahmedabad Express (Weekly)

23. 15033/15034 Haridwar-Ramnagar Express (Tri-weekly)

24. 66019/66020 Salem-Katpadi MEMU (6 days a week) (Railway Budget 2010-11)

25. 66300/66301 Ernakulam-Kollam MEMU (6 days a week) (Railway Budget 2010-11)

26. Introduction of Anandvihar-Kathgodam Shatabdi Express (4 days a week)


1. 59803/59802 Nagda-Kota Passenger extension upto Ratlam

2. 19603/19604 Sultanpur-Ajmer Express extension upto Ahmedabad

3. 12965/12966 Udaipur-Gwalior Express extension upto Khajuraho

4. 55007/55008 Hajipur-Thawe Passenger extension upto Kaptanganj

5.12891/12892 Bhubaneswar-Baripada Express extension upto Bangriposi


1. 59025/59026 Surat-Amravati Fast Passenger from 2 to 3 days a week.

2. 15279/15280 Saharsa-Adarsh Nagar Delhi Express from weekly to bi-weekly


1. Avadi-Chennai Beach

2. Chennai Beach-Gummidipundi

3. Gummidipundi-Chennai Beach

4. Chennai Central-Tiruvallur

5. Tiruvallur-Chennai Central