Modi Govt. goes for cabinet reshuffle, Piyush Goyal is new Railways minister, replaces Suresh Prabhu

| September 3, 2017

NEW DELHI: Power minister Piyush Goyal, newly elevated to cabinet rank, was on Sunday given charge of the railway ministry.

Goyal replaces Suresh Prabhu who had offered to resign after a spate of train accidents in the last month.

Analysts said the BJP leadership felt Goyal has done a competent job in implementing reforms in the power and coal sectors.

Earlier on Sunday, Prabhu thanked all his railway ministry colleagues in a tweet.

Prabhu also congratulated Goyal and three other Union ministers who were on Sunday elevated to Cabinet rank.

Cabinet reshuffle live updates: Suresh Prabhu confirms exit as Railways Minister, will it be Piyush Goyal?

Nine ministers have been inducted into Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Council of Ministers Sunday morning. The swearing-in ceremony began at 10.45 am at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Four Ministers of State – Piyush Goyal, Nirmala Sitharaman,Dharmendra Pradhan and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi have been moved up to the Cabinet.

The nine ministers inducted into the council of ministers are: Shiv Pratap Shukla (Rajya Sabha MP from Uttar Pradesh), Ashwini Kumar Choubey (Lok Sabha MP from Buxar, Bihar), Virendra Kumar (Lok Sabha MP from Tikamgarh, Madhya Pradesh), Anant Kumar Dattatreya Hegde (Lok Sabha MP from Uttara Kannada), R K Singh (Lok Sabha MP from Arrah, Bihar), Hardeep Singh Puri (ex-diplomat), Gajendra Singh Shekhawat (Lok Sabha MP from Jodhpur), Satya Pal Singh (Lok Sabha MP from Baghpat), and Alphons Kannanthanam (ex-bureaucrat).

In the run up to the shuffle, six ministers “volunteered to resign”. Apart from this, key posts were vacant after the exit of Manohar Parrikar and Venkaiah Naidu, and the death of Anil Madhav Dave, who held Independent Charge of Environment, Forest and Climate Change.

Category: Indian Railways, News

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.