7th Pay Commission – Where government employees will get maximum HRA- know city-wise

| May 2, 2017

The committee on allowances has reportedly given its view in favour of AK Mathur-led 7th Pay Commission recommendation, regarding decrease in house rent allowance (HRA) by 2-6 percent depending on type of cities.


New Delhi: The 10-month long wait of central government employees and pensioners for allowances is about to end as the Narendra Modi government is expected to  announce a maximum HRA hike of up to 122 percent for them soon.

A high-level committee headed by the Finance Secretary, Ashok Lavasa had on last Thursday submitted its report to Finance Minister Arun Jaitley. The report will now be examined by the empowered committee of secretaries and following that it will be placed before the Cabinet.

The committee on allowances has reportedly given its view in favour of AK Mathur-led 7th Pay Commission recommendation, regarding decrease in house rent allowance (HRA) by 2-6 percent depending on type of cities.

Population of City            DA above
Present Proposed 50% 100%
Above 50 lakh (Class X) 30% 24% 27% 30%
5 lakh to 50 lakh (Class Y) 20% 16% 18% 20%
Below 5 lakh (Class Z) 10% 8% 9% 10%

The 7th Pay Commission headed by AK Mathur had earlier proposed the rate of House Rent Allowance (HRA) at 24 percent, 16 percent and 8 percent of the Basic Pay for Class X, Y and Z cities respectively.

The Commission had also recommended that the rate of HRA will be revised to 27 percent, 18 percent and 9 percent when DA crosses 50 percent, and further revised to 30 percent, 20 percent and 10 percent when DA crosses 100 percent.

The existing rates of HRA for Class X, Y and Z cities and towns are 30 percent, 20 percent and 10 percent of Basic pay (pay in the pay band plus grade pay)

Below is the list of cities/towns classified for grant of House Rent Allowance (HRA) to central government employees

States/Union Territories Cities classified as X Cities classified as Y
1 Andaman & Nicobar Islands
2 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad Vijawada, Warangal, Visakhapatnam, Guntur, Nellore
3 Arunachal  Pradesh
4 Assam Guwahati
5 Bihar Patna




6 Chandigarh Chandigarh
7 Chhattisgarh Durg-Bhilai Nagar, Raipur
8 Dadra & Nagar Haveli
9 Daman & Diu
10 Delhi Delhi
11 Goa
12 Gujarat Ahmedabad Rajkot, Jamnagar, Bhavnagar, Vadodara, Sutat
13 Haryana Faridabad, Gurgaon
14 Himachal Pradesh
15 Jammu & Kashmir Srinagar, Jammu
16 Jharkhand Jamshedpur,  Dhanbad,  Ranchi, Bokaro Steel City
17 Karnataka Bengaluru Belgaum, Hubli-Dharwad, Mangalore, Mysore, Gulbarga
18 Kerala Khozhikode, Kochi, Thiruvanthapuram, Thrissur, Malappuram, Kannur, Kollam
19 Lakshadweep
20 Madhya Pradesh Gwalior, Indore, Bhopal, Jabalpur, Ujjain
21 Maharashtra Greater Mumbai, Pune Amravati, Nagpur, Aurangabad, Nashik, Bhiwandi, Solapur, Kolhapur, Vasai-Virar City, Malegaon, Nanded-Waghala, Sangli
22 Manipur
23 Meghalaya
24 Mizoram
25 Nagaland
26 Odisha Cuttack, Bhubaneswar, Raurkela
27 Pondicherry Pondicherry
28 Punjab Amritsar, Jalandhar, Ludhiana
29 Rajasthan Bikaner, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Kota, Ajmer
30 Sikkim
31 Tamil Nadu Chennai Salem, Tiruppur, Coimbatore, Tiruchirappalli, Madurai, Erode
32 Tripura
33 Uttar Pradesh Moradabad, Meerut, Ghaziabad, Aligarh, Agra, Bareilly, Lucknow, Kanpur,
Allahabad, Gorakhpur, Varanasi, Saharanpur, Noida, Firozabad, Jhansi
34 Uttarakhand Dehradun
35 West Bengal Kolkata Asansol, Siliguri, Durgapur

The remaining cities / towns in various cities / UTs which are not covered by classification as ‘X’ or ‘Y’ classified as “Z” for the purpose of HRA.


If the government accepts the bare recommendations of A K Mathur-led 7th Pay Commission then the HRA component of central government employees will increase ranging between 106 percent and 122 percent.

Take, for instance, a central government employee at the very bottom of the pay scale, where the basic pay (pay of pay band + grade pay) is now Rs 7,000, would currently be entitled to an HRA of Rs 2,100 in a Class X city. As per 7th Pay Commission, the new entry level pay at this level is Rs 18,000 per month against which the new HRA for a Class X city would be Rs 4,320 per month, that is 106 percent more than the existing level.

Similarly, at the highest level of the pay scale, the Cabinet Secretary and officers of the same rank have a basic pay of Rs 90,000, which means they are entitled to current HRA of Rs 27,000 in Class X towns. After the revised pay scale, the new basic pay is Rs 2.5 lakh, for which the HRA would be Rs 60,000, meaning a hike of 122 percent.

Source:- ZEE NEWS

Category: News, Seventh Pay Commission

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.